Howard President Wayne AI Frederick, MD, MBA, Elected to the National Academy of Medicine | Biden News


WASHINGTONWayne AI Frederick, MD, MBA, professor of surgery Charles R. Drew and president of Howard University, was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) today. He joins 90 new regular members and 10 new international members announced at today’s annual meeting.

According to today’s announcement from NAM, Dr. Frederick was chosen “for being a tireless and talented leader of higher education and a world-renowned healthcare administrator and surgeon. As president of Howard University, he has worked to develop a diverse healthcare workforce while serving as an advisor to US and international officials navigating the COVID-19 pandemic.”

The NAM election is considered one of the highest honors in the field of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and a commitment to service.

“I am deeply honored and honored to join this most glorious individual academy,” said Dr. Frederick. “Individuals in this academy have shaped medicine for decades. They represent the most compassionate and dedicated professionals. It is my sincere intention and hope to uphold their values ​​and contribute as they have to the advancement of medicine around the world.”

New members are selected by current members through a process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of medical science, health care, and public health. The diversity of talent among the NAM membership is ensured by its statutes, which stipulate that at least a quarter of the membership be selected from fields outside the health professions — for example, from fields such as law, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

“This extraordinary class of new recruits is made up of outstanding scholars and leaders who have been at the forefront of responding to serious public health challenges, fighting social injustice, and achieving innovative discoveries,” said Victor J. Dzau, president of NAM. “Their expertise will be critical to informing the future of health and medicine for the benefit of all of us. I am truly honored to welcome these distinguished individuals to the National Medical Academy.”

About Howard University

Founded in 1867, Howard University is a private research university made up of 14 schools and colleges. Students pursue more than 140 courses leading to undergraduate, postgraduate and professional degrees. The University operates with a commitment to Excellence in Truth and Service and has produced one Schwarzman Scholar, three Marshall Scholars, four Rhodes Scholars, 12 Truman Scholars, 25 Pickering Fellows and over 165 Fulbright recipients. Howard also earned more Ph.D. recipients than any other university in the United States. For more information about Howard University, visit

About National Medical Academy

Founded originally as the Institute of Medicine in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine, and related policy and inspires positive action across sectors. NAM works with the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering to provide independent and objective analysis and advice to the nation and undertake other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions. The National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine also encourage education and research, recognize outstanding contributions to knowledge, and increase public understanding of STEMM. With their election, NAM members made a commitment to volunteer in the activities of the National Academy.

Media Contact: Misha Cornelius,


Source link