Wet Leg, Stormzy Win 2022 AIM Independent Music Awards: Full List – Billboard | Biden News


Wet Leg, Stormzy, Rina Sawayama, Nova Twins and Nia Archives were among the winners at the 2022 AIM Independent Music Awards held at London’s Roundhouse on Wednesday (September 28). The awards recognize the UK’s independent music sector.

On their win for UK Independent Success, Wet Leg said via videolink: “Thank you so much for the Breakthrough Award. It’s been a really wild year for us and we’d like to take this opportunity to thank our team and the rest of our newfound family. Such a great person. The person once said, ‘Infinity and beyond!’

Stormzy was honored as a diversity champion for using her platform to level the playing field in the music industry. Collecting his award via video link, Stormzy said: “I encourage everyone in the room today to not just use diversity as a buzz word. Whatever position you are in, whatever role you may play, try to be a real driver for it and not just see it as a quota or a box to tick, and see the value and worth of being diverse. Thank you for the AIM award and to God be the glory.”

This year introduces two new categories: Best Independent EP/Mixtape and Music Entrepreneur of the Year, won by Scottish producer Tahliahof Angelica (untitled (recs)) And Corey Johnson (CEO and Founder of Defenders Ant), respectively. The latter is recognized for his work in establishing Digital Holdings Studios to create a secure space in the UK rap scene.

Includes performances from the show the libertines, Lethal Bijl And Pixie.

Chief Executive Officer of AIM said in the opening ceremony Paul Pacifico said: “Aznight is about us as a community celebrating the incredible success of the world-shattering UK independent music sector. It’s a very competitive market, but we understand that we are stronger together and a win for one of us is a win for all of us.”

Here is a full list of 2022 nominees with winners identified:

Best Independent Album

Burden – Gobgada Express (Move Recording)

Child of Zeus- balance (first sound record)

winner: Cleo Sol – mother (Forever Living Originals)

Dave – We are all alone in this together (Neighbor Recordings)

Dave Okumu – Naperz (criminal record)

Emma-Jean Thackeray – yellow (movement)

Mustafa- When the smoke rises (young)

Nilufar Yania – painless (ATO Records)

salt – not (Forever Living Originals)

Walt Disco – illiteracy (lucky number)

Best independent track

Anz – “You Can Be” (ft. George Riley) (Ninja Tune)

Dave – “Starlight” (Neighbor Recordings)

FKA Twigs – Weekend “Club Tears” ft. (Young)

Jessie – “Protein” feat. Obongjayar (Reason Music)

Knucks, SL – “Better and Better” (No Days Off)

winner: Nova Twins – “Antagonist” (Marshall Records)

Overmono – “So You Know” (XL Recording)

Wet Feet – “Chaise Longue” (Domino Recording Company)

Woo-Loo – “Broken House” (Warp Records)

Yves Tumor – “Jackie” (Warp Records)

UK independent success

Child of Zeus (first sound record)

Naks (no days off)

Nova Twins (Marshall Records)

Wormdasher (Bella Union)

winner: Wet Feet (Domino Recording Company)

International progress

Emile and the Sniffers (Roof Trade)

winner: Blxst (Red Bull Records)

Kokoroko (Brownswood Recordings)

Mdou Moctar (Matador Records)

Mitsky (Dead Ocean)

Best Live Performer

Ben Bohmer (Anjundeep)

IDLES (Party Record)

winner: Mitsky (Dead Ocean)

Shao Dao (DIY Gang Entertainment)

The Who (Better Noise)

the best [difficult] Second album

Black Country, New Road – Ants from beyond (Ninja Tune)

John Rush – Painful knowledge (Planet Mu Records)

winner: Nilufar Yania – painless (ATO Records)

Juice from Friends – footsteps (Brainfeeder)

Tirzah – colorgrade (Domino Recording Company)

Best Independent EP/Mixtape

FKA stems – CAPRISONGS (young)

Joy Orbison – Still Sleeping vol.1 (XL Recording)

Surya Sen- At what cost? (Skint Records)

winner: Tahliah – Angelica (untitled (recess))

Wesley Joseph – Ultramarine (Evitwin)

Best independent remixes

ATO / FLOHIO Remix of ATO – “No Caroline” (MCMXCV)

Mura Masa Remix by Erica De Cassier – “Polite” (4AD)

winner: Ibeyi’s Champion Remix – “Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith” (XL Recordings)

Thom Yorke “Man On Fire” Remix MF Doom – ‘Gazillion Years’ (Lex Records)

Kydi Kane Remix by Shaygirl – “BDE” (Cause Music)

One to watch

Barry Can’t Swim (Technicolor / Ninja Tune)

Jessie (Because Music)

Leah Sen (Partisan Records)

winner: Nia Archives (HIJINXX)

Tahliyah (untitled (recs))

The best independent videos

Arlo Parks – “Softly” (Criminal Record)

Ibeyi – “Made Of Gold ft. Pa Salieu” (XL Recordings)

winner: Jeshi – “3210” (Reason Music)

Wesley Joseph – “Cold Summer” (Secret Canadian)

FKA Twigs – Weekend “Club Tears” ft. (Young)

PPL Award for Most Performed New Independent Artist

Arlo Parks (criminal record)

winner: DOD (Axtone Records)

Casey Lights (Toolroom Productions)

Rathbone Place (Good Company Records)

Wet Feet (Domino Recording Company)

Best creative campaign

Fontaine’s DC – “Skinny Fia” campaign from Partisan Records

winner: Miley Todd – “Maloo” campaign from Stone’s Throw Records

Mitsky – “Laurel Hell” campaign from the Dead Ocean

Obongjayar – “Some Nights I Dream of Doors” campaign from the September recording

Radiohead – “Kid A MNSIA” campaign from XL Recordings

Best independent label

Domino Recording Company

Ninja Tune

Partisan Records

winner: Rough Trade Records

Soundway Records

Best boutique label

Chess Association

Edition Records

Tricky Foreva

winner: local action

rough bones

Music Entrepreneur of the Year

winner: Corey Johnson – CEO and Founder of Defenders Ant.

Jamie O’Bourne – Founder of Dirty Heat/All On Red Management

Karen Emanuel – CEO and Founder of Key Productions

Laura Lewis-Paul – CEO and founder of Saffron Music

Peter Adarkwah – label owner of BBE Music

And here are the recipients of the five non-competitive awards:

Diversity Champion: Stormzy

Innovator Award: Rina Sawayama

Outstanding contribution to music: Lethal electricity

special recognition: The Libertines (Rough Trade)

Independent Champion: by Kenny Gates and Michelle Lambot [PIAS]


Source link