The Biltmore Theater will host the 2022 Oshawa Music Awards | Biden News


Posted on September 29, 2022 at 9:43 am

Hill Korkautis

The first woman to be nominated for and win a Juno Award for Recording Engineer of the Year is being honored tonight as an Industry Leader Award recipient at the Oshawa Music Awards.

The accomplishments of Hill Korkoutis, a noted producer, songwriter, composer, mixer, multi-instrumentalist, artist, consultant and teacher who grew up in Greenwood, North Pickering, will be featured at OMA’s fifth annual Celebration of Music at the Biltmore Theater. In Durham Region.

His production, mixing and songwriting credits cover an extensive roster of releases — from Leela Guild’s Juno-winning album, North Star Calling, Digging Roots’ Top 30-charting ‘Skoden’, Casey DaSilva’s viral hit ‘Unwanted Contact’ to SATE’s Juno to — and the Polaris Award-nominated release, ‘The Fool’ — and he co-wrote and produced the theme song and end-title song for Universal Kids’ Remy and Boo, as well as Disney’s Dino Ranch.

As a musician, Kourkoutis has shared the stage with artists such as The Weeknd, Serena Ryder, Martha and the Muffins, and Tara Sloan, and was the on-stage guitarist for the house band on CTV’s The Launch.

“Hill’s accomplishments exemplify the essence of OMAs’ Music Industry Leader Awards to this day,” said OMA Director Tony Sutherland. “His work speaks volumes and will no doubt inspire rising stars in Durham Region, across the country and around the world.”

“We are thrilled to recognize Hill this year and welcome him to this illustrious team.”

For his part, Kourkoutis said he was “deeply honored” to be the recipient of this year’s Music Industry Leader of the Year award. “Growing up in Durham gave me an incredible start to my music career; it’s where I took all my music lessons, wrote my first songs, started my first band, recorded my first demos and had the support from my family, teachers and peers that helped me. Lets follow my dreams.”

“The foundation that was established in the Durham community has been integral to my growth as a creator, and I feel so grateful to OMA,” he added. “Receiving this honor from my peers in my hometown where it all started means the world to me.”

In addition to Kourkoutis, the 2022 OMAs will honor artists in multiple categories — including Songwriter of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist or Band of the Year, Emerging Artist or Band of the Year, Song of the Year, Durham Song of the Year. Year, Music Video of the Year, Music Producer of the Year and Music Teacher of the Year.

The 2022 Oshawa Music Awards will once again distribute Lifetime Achievement Awards recognizing individual work within the local community.

This year’s recipients are the Durham Girls’ Choir and Greg Keelor ​​of Blue Rodeo fame.

Launched in 2018, previous Oshawa Music Award recipients include Shawn Mendes, Crown Lands, Tanya Joy, Three Mile Islanders, Jaftig, Skye Wallace, Hollowage and Mogens Galberg; Returning OMA winners Lindsay Schoolcraft and gal George Zijurin are also set for 2022 nods.

Excuses are nominated in the Excuses Artist or Band of the Year category


Artist or Band of the Year

Excuses Excuses (“Far From Perfect”)

Jadia Kelly (“Driveway”)

Lindsay Schoolcraft (“The New World”)

unit of the year

Excuses Excuses (“Far From Perfect”)

Jadia Kelly (“Happy”)

Valdi (“3 Years (Casino Stereo Remix)”)

Songwriter of the Year

Cameron Tanya (“Helium”)

Dead Defined (“Rise and Stall”)

Hunter Sheridan (“Ambrose”)

Music Video of the Year

Crease Rules With Production House (“Ed Was Honest”)

Delon Om & BenAnthony Lavoz w/ Delon Om (“Delequente (Delinquinte)”)

BUSM w/ The North Brothers (“Smile”)

Emerging Artist or Band of the Year – Presented by Spark Center

Anthony Brown (“It’s Anthony Brown – EP”)

Cameron Tanya (“Helium”)

Delon Ohm and BenAnthony Lavose (“Delequinte (Delinquinte)”)

Album of the year

Tanya Joy (“I’ll Stand”)

Valdi (“The Mirror”)

Wayne Madder (“Unconditional”)

Durham song of the year — Presented by Durham Region Economic Development and Tourism

Cameron Tanya (“Helium”)

Gal George Gujurin (“Shine”)

Music Producer of the Year — Presented by 360 Insights

Dysymphony (“Delequente (Delinquinte)”)

Gal George Gujurin (“Shine”)

Lindsay Schoolcraft (“Stolen Light”)

Music Teacher of the Year — Presented by Durham College

Amanda De Boer

Durham Girls Choir

Emily Snellings

The public was invited to vote for their favorite in each category except for Music Producer of the Year and Music Teacher of the Year. Public voting closes August 9 at

The 2022 Oshawa Music Awards are presented by Durham Region Economic Development and Tourism, 360Insights, Spark Centre, Trent University Durham GTA and Durham College.

Greg Keelor ​​was honored this year by the OMAs with a Lifetime Achievement Award

insauga’s editorial standards and policies



Source link