NWT Music Awards handed out | Biden News


The stars attended the NWT Music Awards on September 10, where many people attended the gala event.

The event was more than a decade in the making.

In 2003, Music NWT was known as the Recording Artists Association of the Northwest Territories (RAANT). The organization was co-funded by Matthew Grogono, president of the Yellowknife Artists Cooperative and owner of Old Town Glassworks.

According to Grogono, who was present at the event, the award ceremony was a dream come true for him and his RAANT partners.

In addition, Grogno brought home a special gift, an Aurora Arts Society honor from 2004 that reflects “extraordinary achievements in your first year of operation.”

Honorary Award from the Recording Arts Association of the Northwest Territories, which Matthew Grogono and Partners earned in 2004 from the Aurora Arts Society. Grogono brought the keepsake to the NWT Music Awards on September 10. Ethan Butterfield/NNSL Photo

For the gala event, the 2022 NWT Music Awards recognized numerous winners including Miranda Currie, Kilo November and Narwhal.

The awards ceremony was hosted by Rankin Inlet-born, now Yellowknife resident, writer and vocalist Tanya Snow.

Kilo November, along with award show host Tanya Snow, gives the thumbs up after being announced as Best Live Performance at the NWT Music Awards. Photo by Ethan Butterfield/NNSL

The event featured live performances by Skyfire Taiko, Stephen Richardson, Brendan McIntosh and Fort Good Hope rapper Crook the Kid.

Mackintosh, who also won for Best Debut Release, was humble about the win.

“It felt good just to be nominated and I’m grateful to Music NWT for hosting such a great event.”

Brendan Mackintosh holds his Best Debut Release award, which he won after his live performance at the 2022 NWT Music Awards. Photo courtesy of Brenden MacIntosh

Also, Gnarwhal, who won Best Single after releasing their tune Deep Spaced, also expressed gratitude.

“We are truly honored to be a winner in this category, especially with the other amazing nominees. Deep Spaced is our second release, so this recognition really validates the hard work we’ve put into songwriting and recording over the past year. It really inspires us to keep writing and releasing music.”

Jeremy Strecker, left, Layne Rybchinski, Benji Strecker and Narhull’s Mark Kilbride accept the Best Single Award at the NWT Music Awards. Image courtesy of Gnarwhal

During the event, Crook the Kid, who will perform after his win for Best Songwriting, said, “I can’t believe anyone in this room thought it was okay to give me an award,” which was uttered in jest.

Crook the Kid happily accepts the award for Best Songwriting. Photo by Ethan Butterfield/NNSL

Miranda Currie, who will receive the Aboriginal Artist of Excellence honor, was thrilled with her win, saying, “I am delighted to receive the Indigenous Artist of Excellence award from the inaugural NWT Music Awards! It is an honor to have my work recognized in this way. Indigenous voices are being heard and Indigenous children are beginning to represent themselves authentically in a variety of media. I believe it helps to positively change the narrative of Aboriginal people in Canada. This is what I want to support through my work as an artist.”

Miranda Curry with her Aboriginal Artist Excellence Award. Thrilled with the win, Currie would add that ‘indigenous voices are being heard and in terms of representation Aboriginal kids are beginning to present themselves authentically in a variety of media’. Photo courtesy of Miranda Currie

Winner, winner

Other award recipients were as follows:

Fan Choice – Abe Drennan

new album – Al bee for one from another

Excellence in Music – David Dow of Double D Studios

Best place- Great Northern Arts Festival

soundtrack – Keith Robertson for Thin Ice (by Andrea Bettgar)

Live performance Kilo November

Heading to the Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame inductees who received their own honors at the ceremony included drummers from Yellowknives’ Den, Ted Wesley — the founder of Folk on the Rocks who died in December 2021 — and Norm Gloach.

Yellowknives Dene Drummers inducted into the NWT Music Hall of Fame. Photo by Ethan Butterfield/NNSL

The NWT Music Hall of Fame inducted three people at this event: drummers Dane the Yellowknives, Norm Gloch and Ted Wesley. Photo by Ethan Butterfield/NNSL


Source link