2022 Jazz Music Awards Winners: Complete List – Billboard | Biden News


Christian McBride and Inside Straight were the top winners at the inaugural Jazz Music Awards, which took place Saturday, October 22, at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center in Atlanta. McBride & Inside Straight took home two of the eight competing awards — Best Mainstream Artist and Best Duo, Group or Large Band. McBride, 50, an eight-time Grammy winner, was on the road in Europe and unable to attend the event.

Celebrating the Spirit of Jazz The dub show was co-hosted by Dee Dee Bridgewater and actor Delroy Lindo. Terry Lynn Carrington was the show’s musical director and co-executive producer.

A mid-show medley of “Social Justice Songs” featured Dianne Reeves, Liz Wright, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jazmia Horne and Ledisi. Reeves opened the segment with his 1994 composition, “Endangered Species,” which gained attention at last month’s Primetime Emmy Awards when Sheryl Lee Ralph sang it in her acceptance speech.

Vocalist Somi, one of two winners of the Best Vocal Performance award (due to a tie), performed the Miriam Makeba tribute, “House of the Rising Sun.”

A presentation of influential jazz saxophonist and composer Wayne Shorter’s Lifetime Achievement Award included a medley of his songs and Shorter’s heartfelt video message.

The show closes with a powerful performance by Liz Wright and Tia Fuller of “Georgia on My Mind.”

Carrington’s All-Star Band played throughout the show. The group consisted of pianist Orrin Evans, bassist James Janus, guitarist Mark Whitfield, tenor saxophonist Marcus Strickland, alto saxophonist Braxton Cook, trumpeter Milena Casado, keyboardist Ray Angry, drummer Nicky Glaspie, and DJ/percussionist Casaall.

Presenters included The Baylor Project’s Reeves, Horn, Gene and Marcus Baylor, Brandi Younger, Ben Tankard, Orrin Evans, Ragan Whiteside, Tia Fuller and Bob Baldwin.

Many in attendance were moved by the more than 100 jazz greats listed in the In Memoriam tribute. All died between late December 2019 and October 2022.

The Jazz Music Awards is a non-profit division of Jazz 91.9 WCLK at Clark Atlanta University, owned and licensed by WCLK.

The second annual Jazz Music Awards is set for Saturday, October 21, 2023

Here is a full list of nominees in the eight competitive categories:

Best mainstream artist
Joey DeFrancesco, More music
Kenny Garrett, Words from the ancestors
: Christian McBride and Inside Straight, Live at Village Vanguard
brandy short, Somewhere different

Best Contemporary Artist
Brian Bromberg, A little driving music
Ben Tankard, Shiny!
Lindsey Webster, “I Didn’t Mean It”
winner: Ragan Whiteside, “Off the Cuff”

Best Duo, Group or Big Band
Baylor Project, the generation
Jazmia Horne and her Noble Force, dear love
: Christian McBride and Inside Straight, Live at Village Vanguard
Count Basie Orchestra, Live in Birdland
(Directed by Scotty Barnhart)
Kevin Eubanks and Orrin Evans, EEE (Eubanks-Evans-Experience)

Best New Jazz Artist (Contemporary or Mainstream)
Simon Mulier, Countdown
Julieta Ngenio, jump in
Kazemde George, I’m stubborn
: Samara Jai, Samara wins

Best Vocal Performance
Baylor Project, the generation
: Somi Kakoma, Genzil is dreaming
: Stacey Kent, Songs from other places

Sean Montero, you are there

Best Mainstream Album
Baylor Project, the generation
: Orrin Evans, Now the magic
: Kenny Garrett, Words from the ancestors
brandy short, Somewhere different

Best Contemporary Album
winner: Bob Baldwin, The Stay at Home Series, Volume 1
Brian Culbertson, Trilogy Red
sonny emory, Soul Ascension
Gabriel Mark Hasselbach, Tongue and groove

Song of the Year (Fan Vote)
winner: Norman Brown, “Back at Ya”
Brian Culbertson, “Feel the Love”
Justin-Lee Schultz, “Groove Kid”
James “PJ” Spragins, “Up From Here”


Source link